I drugged the momfriends

It’s so hilarious when you do that, Mam!

One of my resolutions for this year was to host more parties and playdates.  I want to get over the hang up that I have about living in an apartment and about it being too small but, more importantly, I want the momfriends to get to know me a bit better, to slyly notice the books on the shelves, the shampoo bottles in the bathroom, to see me on my own turf, where, ultimately, I am most comfortable. And I like having people over and hosting parties. In fact, I love it.

So, as you do when you host a playdate, you bake a cake! I went for my BFF’s (that’s Alicia Silverstone to everyone else) coffee brownie, except I tweaked the recipe; it called for decaf coffee but I only had fancy pants Italian espresso. I thought it wouldn’t matter.

So, there I was hosting a playdate with babies and bumps all over the place and requests for non-caffeinated beverages coming in. I graciously served herbal teas while only sort of snidely thinking that decaf tea is a bit precious.

I noticed that I was enjoying the playdate, a lot. I was like a social butterfly, flitting from one toddler to the next, having little chats, reading books, doling out musical instruments. There was this glorious moment when all the toddlers started playing the instruments at the same time. I nearly died from the cuteness. And the craic! I was having the most fun I’ve ever had on a playdate. I felt great! But, I didn’t just feel great, I felt Tony Tiger grrrreeat. There is one thing and one thing only that makes me feel that good: coffee, specifically fancy pants Italian espresso.

Apparently, a cup of espresso coffee really does have an effect when baked in a brownie. That’s why people bake things in brownies.

The hunking slices of brownie cake I’d handed out to everyone had disappeared. Consumed by the bumps.

I’d drugged the momfriends. The pregnant momfriends. I couldn’t help but feel that I’d done it on purpose, that on some subconscious or even conscious level, I’d wanted to do something subversive at one of the playdates for a long time. However, this wasn’t quite what I had in mind.

Leave a Reply

