A little thing called love

IMG_20140515_191138

Lately, Boone’s been telling us a lot that he loves us. Sometimes he says it because he’s very pleased with us, sometimes he says it because he wants to butter us up, but most of the time he says it just to say it, like in those sweet, sweet moments just before he goes to sleep or when we’re all sitting around not doing much of anything. It always makes us laugh because he doesn’t just say I love you, he says, I looooove you, letting the ‘o’ drop and deepen until it all sounds very grand and cinematic. There’s also more than a hint of tongue-in-cheek roguery to these declarations—Ralph Fiennes’ character in The Grand Budapest Hotel comes to mind. We attempt to match his grandeur and tell him that we love him, too, and then we all bask in a love haze.

I never expected this reciprocation. I’ve always known what it’s like for me to love him. It physically hurts—the blood that used to flow in and out of my heart unnoticed, I can now feel with every squeeze of my blood vessels. There are a lot of songs about love in the world but when I heard this song a couple of years ago, I thought that’s it, that’s what mother love is like!  It’s that almost bad-for-you love, it’s the crawling desperation of “I will love you ‘til the end of time/Promise you’ll remember that you’re mine.” I know that Lana Del Rey’s referring to loving a tattooed bad boy but she may as well be singing about my boy, the one who makes my eyes burn every time he walks into the room.

I had been wondering if Boone really knew the meaning of I love you, so the other day, I asked him.

“It means . . . I like you and think you’re fantastic!,” he said.

I’d say he’s got a pretty good understanding.

4 thoughts on “A little thing called love

  1. It’s something special, isn’t it? Amelie doesn’t have the words to say it yet but even when I get a kiss on the cheek out of nowhere, or a random bear hug, it just fills me with the kind of joy not matched by anything else. Lovely post.

    Like

    • Awww, thanks! This mother love thing really is special. I find myself overwhelmed by it all the time, sniff, sniff. Hope you’re having a great time on your hols!

      Like

    • Ha! Just saw your latest post there. If I weren’t vegan, I’d probably be mad for currywurst, too, thanks to all my German textbooks in school. Having read your description, though, no FOMO going on over here!

      Like

Leave a Reply

